Photo of smiling faces

Community Development Council (CDC)

The Community Development Council (CDC) is the coordinating body for the CDI national network. It is a nonprofit organization whose purpose is to establish professional standards through certification and training that will be recognized as valuable to both the community development practitioner and those who employ their services.

CDC was founded in 1995 to promote the advancement of standards of competence for community development professionals through accreditation of community development educational programs, professional certification, and the development of community leaders.

Support for the Council's activities comes from private and public sector sponsors and from fees generated by certification and accreditation services. It is not a membership organization but does maintain a registry of Professional Community and Economic Developers in good standing.

The CDC oversees the certification process through its board of trustees and works collaboratively with the Community Development Institutes to deliver the full range of services leading to certification. The 16-member board is comprised of representatives from private industry, government, educational institutions, and non-profits. SEDC serves as the administrative home for CDC.

CDI History

CDC Board Officers


Shelby Fiegel, PCED
CDI Central Director
Director, Center for Community and Economic Dev
University of Central Arkansas


Gloria Zacharias, PCED
Program and Policy Coordinator
Business Oregon


Courtney Taylor, PCED, Ph.D.
Deputy Director for Postsecondary Strategy


Matt Tackett
Southern Economic Development Council

Board Trustees

Robin Collins, PCED, CBO
Deputy Director of Planning and Zoning
City of Caldwell

Jonathan Dean, PCED
Vice President of Economic Development
The Southwest Louisiana Economic Development Alliance

Michael Dougherty, PCED
Extension Specialist/Extension Professor
West Virginia University Extension Service

Kay Fitzsimons
CDI Texas Director
Executive Director, Leadership and Economic Dev
Lone Star College

Jennifer Hayes
CDI Southeast Director
Associate Director, Professional Development and Lifelong Learning, College of Continuing Studies
The University of Alabama

Roger Hesketh
CDI Mid-Atlantic Director
Director of Community Revitalization
Center for Community Research & Service
University of Delaware

L. Steve Jones, PCED
Site Consultant
Arkansas Economic Development Commission

Erik Kingston, PCED
Housing Resources Coordinator
Idaho Housing and Finance Association

Christopher Merrett, Ph.D.
CDI Midwest Co-Director
Director, Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs Western Illinois University

Jerry Miller
CDI Northwest Director
Economic Development Specialist
Idaho Commerce

Carolyn Motl, PCED
The Motl Group

Cody Slater
Wynne Economic Development Corporation

Lisa Taylor, PCED
Economic Development Director
City of Durant (OK)

Matthew Twyford, PCED
Director, Community Development Division
Arkansas Economic Development Commission

Sandy Wittig, MBA
CDI Midwest Co-Director
Financial & HR Manager, Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs
Western Illinois University


Honorary Advisory Member

Vic Lafont, PCED
Executive Director, South Louisiana Economic Council